wallkillo.blogg.se

Mustang should you install oil catch can
Mustang should you install oil catch can





Have you done a leakdown test? Are you running a high-volume oil pump? It sounds But it should not be enough to cause visible If anyone has any tips for us on how NOT to suck oil through your PCV valve hooked to manifold/baseplate vacuum, I'd love to hear it.Well, first, -all- PCV systems suck in some oil. If anyone has any tips for us on how NOT to suck oil through your PCV valve hooked to manifold/baseplate vacuum, I'd love to hear it. Maybe the vapors have been sucked in well, but along with the vapors came oil!! However, all of the systems I tried up until this last one without the PCV valve have not worked well. I'm not discounting a proper PCV system and believe that it is needed for cleaner engine operation etc. I've driven the car for the past three weeks now, and guess what? No more smoke, AND after pulling the carb to check on the condition of the intake plenum, NO MORE OILY GOO!! The entire intake plenum and all runners are spotlessly clean and bone dry. I still ran the open breather on the other vavle cover.īasically I got the air cleaner to act as the suction instead of the carb base plate port which is less suction, however there still is some suction. I then routed the 3/8" hose to a brass nipple port I installed in the air cleaner base inboard of the air filter. I did not use a PCV valve with this breather, it is a closed breather that plugs directly into the valve cover. It is a Moroso breather, like the ones you would use for an exhaust evac system. I cleaned out the intake and ran a breather with the 3/8" hose nipple on the end. I even at one point tried an in line air to oil separator on the PCV line, and it started filling with oil within a week, as well as the intake plenum again arrg!!

mustang should you install oil catch can

The new engine ran great, although within a few hours of run time, the whole intake AGAIN was coated in brown dirty oily goo. I thought I would have better oil control. On the second build I just completed, I went with a pair of Moroso baffled vavle covers, and a genuine Motorcraft PV98C. I took off the carb and the entire intake inside was filled with dirty brown oily goo. I had a smoke issue when starting, running, or just getting on the gas.

mustang should you install oil catch can

I also used a breather on the other valve cover. I used a PV98C valve hooked to the 3/8" port on the carburetor base.

mustang should you install oil catch can

The first time, I used aluminum valve covers with a metal plate baffle installed 3"x3" around the breather/PCV hole. I have had problems with oil being sucked right into the intake on my car after installing a good PCV system. You have to be very careful on what type of valve covers you are using as far as the PCV system goes.







Mustang should you install oil catch can